Top 5 Movies of 2008

It’s mid-March, so here are my Top 5 Movies of 2008 (in no order):

In Bruges

The Fall

Let the Right One In

The Dark Knight

Role Models

Honorable Mention: Vicky Christina Barcelona, Doubt, Man on Wire

Benjamin Button was awesome to look at but I can’t doo Brad Pitt in a kinda-cajun accent for 3 hours.

Biggest Disappointment: Burn After Reading. Woulda walked out had I not been with relatives.  That was a stinkfest. And the follow up to NO COUNTRY? I think Coens should stop dooing comedy and kick to bloody ass-kickers.

Oh yeah, I saw “I’m Not There” in 2008 and woulda walked out but was pinned near wall at very end of the aisle and didn’t want to disturb everyone.  So I let myself be disturbed for 5 hours.  I liked Far From Heaven but I am taking a giant leap off of the Todd Haynes boat.  YoBoy!  Cate Blanchett’s Bob Dylan? Ha! Ha! AAAAHAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Hey man, define define man. I mean, am I taking a shit, man? Or is the shit taking me, man?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Top 5 Movies of 2008”

  1. cello85 Says:

    The Fall was actually 2007 TECHNICALLY but did get a limited run in 2008. However I agree with yoru list and I thought Burn After Reading was super mediocre and In Bruges was brilliant. I haven’t seen Let the Right One in, but its on my wishlist on amazon, I need to pull the trigger on that huh? hehe I have a movie review blog, swing by if you ever get a free moment 🙂

  2. heather b Says:

    Oh no Kaya bear, we differ again. Burn After Reading is actually pretty funny. Maybe you have to know a bunch of personal trainers or adulterers to appreciate the silliness. Or, maybe you have to live in a town where people really are that stupid. But, I’m beginning to believe that, especially after learning of your disregard for the comedic brilliance of Life Aquatic, that you do not like what is silly. Please don’t tell me Monte Python and the Jerk are lamo too.

    Although I have disagreed with you again, your blog is a GREAT READ and a nice break from breastfeeding. xoxo

  3. kayarrhea Says:

    AHAHAHAHA. Heather! You’ve stumbled into my nerd dungeon! What a delight to have a visitor with melanin!

    Wes Anderson Movies:

    1.Rushmore (in my tops of all time, own it)
    2. Royal Tennenbaums (own it)
    3. Bottle Rocket
    4. Life Aquatic – I thought a good movie was inside of this, I just would’ve liked it to be tightened up a bit. I will eventually give it another shot, as I’ve only seen it once. And “Here’s to You” by Joan Baez on the soundtrack became my jam after hearing…

    Now, whatever the numeric symbol for flaming diaper is, that’s what I attribute to “Darjeeling Limited.” That movie made L.A. look really, really good in hindsight. Wes A. needs to stop making movies about rich-people angst now that he’s a millionaire. Now that he has his stupid American Express card.

    Burn After Reading got a few chuckles out of me, but you’re right, it was the inane silliness that annoyed me. I did laugh at the chair George Clooney made. There just wasn’t enough there for me to enjoy esp. since I had such high expectations AND their recent comedies were let-downs. I turned “Intolerable Cruelty” off. I am waiting patiently for ANTON CHIGURH: The Prequel!!!!!!! Woohoo!

    I haven’t seen a lot of Monty Python – but again – some is too silly for me, some makes me laugh. The first half of The Jerk is pants-peeing. The scene at the carnival where he’s showing the girl the prizes she can win? That one made me cry I was laughing, and pooping, so hard. But once the movie starts trying to wrap up the story line, I don’t think it’s as funny. It’s no “Philadelphia.”

    So some silly I don’t like, some I doo: Ace Ventura, Pootie Tang, Ace Ventura 2!

    Glad this is an acceptable alternative to spraying milk out of your ta-tas! Does Henry have a favorite Ingmar Bergman film yet? Hope everything is delightful!

Leave a Reply

